Chill Tubs Essential Pod vs The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel


Two cold plunge tubs side by side: Chill Tubs Essential Pod at £499 and The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel at £399.99. Prices and specifications checked against each maker's page, last on .
Choose the Chill Tubs Essential Pod if
- it holds more water (498 L against 454 L), useful if you are tall or want room to move
- it was in stock when we last checked and the other was not
Choose The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel if
- it costs £99.01 less (25% cheaper)
| Chill Tubs Essential Pod | The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel | |
|---|---|---|
| UK price | £499 | £399.99 |
| Type | Inflatable or portable tub | Inflatable or portable tub |
| Capacity | 498 L | 454 L |
| Includes chiller | No | No |
| Material | Reinforced PVC (inflatable) | Hardened rubber walls, all-round insulation |
| Insulation | Not stated | Not stated |
| Dimensions | 1000 dia x 900 h mm | Not stated |
| Weight (empty) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Voltage | Not stated | Not stated |
| Filtration | Not stated | Not stated |
| Outdoor use | Yes | Yes |
| App control | No | No |
| Warranty | Not stated | Not stated |
| Tested by us | No | No |
| Where to buy | Check price at Chill Tubs | Check price at The Cold Pod |
Buying facts
| Chill Tubs Essential Pod | The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel | |
|---|---|---|
| Price per litre of capacity | £1.00 | £0.88 |
| Ice to cool from 15C to 8C, per plunge | 49 kg | 45 kg |
| Brand rating on Trustpilot | 3.2 from 12 reviews | 3.3 from 9 reviews |
| Newest Trustpilot reviews we read | 2 of 11 at 1-2 stars | 3 of 9 at 1-2 stars |
| Amazon UK rating | Not on Amazon UK | 5 from 3 ratings |
| Where the seller is based | Chesterfield, Derbyshire | Not stated |
Trustpilot scores cover the whole brand and its service, not this model alone; we read the newest reviews on each profile at every data run. How we check the data.
Price history
| From | Chill Tubs Essential Pod | The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel |
|---|---|---|
| £499 | £399.99 | |
| £499 | £400 | |
| £499 | Not tracked yet |
Each row is a date one of the two prices changed; last checked 5 Oct 2026.
What the numbers say
On price, The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel is £99.01 cheaper than the Chill Tubs Essential Pod (£399.99 against £499 in the UK at the time of writing).
Capacity: Chill Tubs Essential Pod 498 L, The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel 454 L (advantage Chill Tubs Essential Pod).
We have not tested either unit ourselves, so this comparison is built from the makers' specifications, UK pricing and owner feedback; each product page says the same.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Chill Tubs Essential Pod or The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel cheaper?
The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel is cheaper at £399.99, £99.01 less than the Chill Tubs Essential Pod at £499, on the UK prices we last checked.
Which holds more water, the Chill Tubs Essential Pod or The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel?
The Chill Tubs Essential Pod: about 498 litres against 454 litres.
Do the Chill Tubs Essential Pod and The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel come with a chiller?
No. Both are cooled with ice or a separate chiller. Our ice calculator and chiller sizing calculator show what each option needs.
Which brand do owners rate higher?
On Trustpilot, Chill Tubs scores 3.2 from 12 reviews and The Cold Pod 3.3 from 9 (checked 2026-09-22). These are brand scores covering every product and the service, not this model alone.
Related comparisons
- Chill Tubs Essential Pod vs Lumi Therapy PRO DUO
- Chill Tubs Essential Pod vs Kove Pro 2 Person Ice Bath
- Chill Tubs Essential Pod vs MyoMaster MyoIce Elite
- Lumi Therapy PRO 8 vs The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel
- MyoMaster MyoIce Pro vs The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel
- Cold Plunge Store Elite Ice Bath vs The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel
Read the full pages
- Chill Tubs Essential Pod: price, specs and verdict
- The Cold Pod Elite Lite Barrel: price, specs and verdict
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commission does not decide verdicts; see our affiliate disclosure.