Independent UK cold plunge reviews, prices and buying guidesEnquiries: hello@plungepedia.com
PlungepediaThe UK's cold plunge encyclopaedia. Every tub and chiller, compared honestly.
Catalogue and reviews growing weekly
Manufacturers: list your products

Best cold plunge chiller UK 2026: every chiller UK brands sell, compared

All 25 cold plunge chillers sold in the UK compared on price, cooling watts, minimum temperature, heating, noise and warranty, with picks by budget.

Published , updated .

Products in this guide

Every chiller sold separately by a UK brand or retailer is in this guide: Plungepedia tracks 25 units from 11 brands, £499 to £2,880, re-read from each maker's own page every week.

Updated 29 September 2026: following the administration of Lumi Therapy Ltd, the Mini Chiller 2 has left the FAQ answer, its pick now covers only people who already own a Lumi pod, and its 445 W is treated as unlabelled. Earlier, on 26 September: Chill Tubs has withdrawn its Halo commercial chiller, so the dearest chiller on the list is now the Wedge Ultimate. Earlier, updated 23 September 2026: fourteen chillers added this week (The Pod Company, Kaldera, Cold Plunge Store, Polar Recovery, and the Poolex and Wedge heat pumps sold by Urban Ice Tribe), prices refreshed, and the best-value and heating picks have changed. Corrected the same evening: noise, heating and Cold Plunge Store figures, re-checked against the full catalogue. Many "best chiller" lists compare five American units that cost more to ship than to buy; this one is the UK market, in pounds, on a 13A plug.

Written by Aodhan, who has run separate chillers on inflatable, hard-wall and rigid tubs over three years. Prices and specifications are from the Plungepedia catalogue, read from each brand's own UK page and last checked on 5 October 2026. Brand links and the Amazon UK links may earn us a commission; the price to you is the same.

The UK chiller market by the numbers

Plungepedia's catalogue holds 25 stand-alone chillers from 11 brands, £499 to £2,880. Only 8 publish a cooling figure in watts; the rest give horsepower, a maximum tub size or nothing, and those are not the same measure. Where a minimum temperature is stated it is 3C or lower on almost all of them, so minimum temperature does not separate them. Cold Plunge Store's three chillers publish the same cooling and draw figures as Kove's Core, Pro and Elite 1 HP (though it rates the Pro 0.8 HP rather than 1 HP), and Polar Recovery's Cube states the same 1/3 HP and 280 W as The Pod Company's Pod Chiller, which tells you the same factory units are sold under different names. Warranties run from none stated to four years (the Wedge Ultimate). The two things that actually separate these units are cooling capacity, once you decode the watts, and whether they heat.

First, the watts problem

Brands quote three different numbers and call all of them "watts". Cooling capacity is how much heat the unit pulls out of the water; input power is what it draws from the socket; and horsepower is the compressor size, which maps roughly to cooling capacity. Kove states all three on the same page (Cold Plunge Store repeats the Core and Pro figures but calls the Pro 0.8 HP): the Core is 0.5 HP, 1,200 W of cooling, 695 W drawn; the Pro is 1 HP, 2,500 W cooling, 1,050 W drawn; the Elite 1.5 HP is 3,500 W cooling, 1,550 W drawn. Keico's Classic (0.5 HP) states 1,200 W cooling and its Pro (1 HP) 2,300 W, which agrees with Kove. Monk states 880 W cooling with a 1,250 W peak for the Shiver, and 1,450 W for the Shiver Pro. Lumi's page for the Mini Chiller 2 lists "445W" with no label at all, so it could be cooling output or power draw. Plungepedia does not treat it as a cooling figure, and it cannot be compared directly with the labelled figures above.

The practical rule from those figures: a covered 400 to 500 L tub in a UK garage or shade needs about 1,000 W of cooling to hold 3 to 5C and recover between sessions, which is any 0.5 HP-class unit; outdoors in summer sun, 600 L and up, or two people plunging back to back, go to 1 HP. More than 1 HP at home buys speed, not a lower temperature.

Every UK chiller in one table

Chiller UK price Stated cooling Minimum Heats Filtration App Warranty
The Pod Company Pod Chiller £499 Not stated (0.33 HP) 5C No 20 micron filter Not stated 1 year
MyoMaster MyoChill £549 Not stated (rated to 600 L) 3C No Filter No 1 year
Polar Recovery Cube Mini Chiller £549.99 Not stated (0.33 HP) 3C No 20 micron filter Yes 1 year
Kaldera Cold Therapy Chill Core 300 £599 Not stated (rated to 350 L) Not stated Not stated Built-in filtration Not stated 2 years
Kove Core 0.5HP Chiller £599 1,200 W 3C No Filter No 2 years
Cold Plunge Store Core 0.5HP Chiller £645 1,200 W 3C No Not stated Not stated Not stated
Urban Ice Tribe Poolex O'Spa Heat Pump Chiller £645 Not stated 3C Yes Not stated Yes 1 year
The Keico Classic Chiller 1/2 HP £675 1,200 W 3C No Filter No Not stated
Lumi Therapy Mini Chiller 2 £699 Not stated (445 W, unlabelled) 2C No Filter Yes 1 year
Kaldera Cold Therapy Chill Core 500 £799 Not stated (rated to 550 L) Not stated Not stated Inline filtration Not stated 2 years
Polar Recovery Ultra Mini Chiller £799.99 Not stated 1C Yes Particle filter plus ozone Yes 1 year
Urban Ice Tribe Poolex O'Spa Flow (chiller with built-in pump) £887 Not stated 2C Yes Not stated Yes 1 year
Monk Shiver £895 880 W 3C No Filter Yes 2 years
MyoMaster MyoChill+ £899 Not stated (rated to 1000 L) 1C No Filter Not stated 1 year
Kaldera Cold Therapy Chill Core Pro £999 Not stated (rated to 1000 L) Not stated Not stated Dual-stage filtration Yes 2 years
Chill Tubs Mini Chiller £1,020 Not stated 3C No Filter Yes Not stated
Cold Plunge Store Pro 0.8HP Chiller £1,185 2,500 W 3C Yes Filter with UV and ozone Yes Not stated
Kove Pro 1HP Chiller £1,199 2,500 W 3C Yes Filter Yes 2 years
Kove Elite 1.0HP Chiller £1,399 Not stated (1 HP) 3C Yes Filter Yes 2 years
Cold Plunge Store Elite 1.0HP Chiller £1,499 Not stated (1 HP) 3C Yes Three 20 micron filters, ozone Yes Not stated
Urban Ice Tribe Poolex Ice Spa 7kW £1,545 Not stated 3C Yes Not stated Yes 1 year
Kove Elite 1.5HP Chiller £1,599 3,500 W 3C Yes Filter Yes 2 years
Urban Ice Tribe Wedge Pro Chiller System £1,656 Not stated 2C Yes Not stated Yes 3 years
The Keico Pro Chiller 1HP £1,950 2,300 W 3C Yes Filter Yes Not stated
Urban Ice Tribe Wedge Ultimate Chiller System £2,880 Not stated 2C Yes Pump and filter control integrated Yes 4 years

Prices are each brand's own UK storefront price in September 2026 and are dated on the product page. Bundles (chiller sold with a tub) are on the cold plunge tubs pages; the Monk Shiver Pro (1,450 W, heats to 40C) is only sold inside the £4,290 Cocoon bundle, so it is not in this table.

The picks

Best value for a home tub: Kove Core, £599. 1,200 W of stated cooling (0.5 HP, 695 W draw), a hair filter plus 5 micron inline filter, a 3C minimum and a 2-year warranty: the most published cooling per pound of any cold-only chiller in our catalogue. It is cold only and has no app. The Keico Classic (£675) states the same 1,200 W but publishes no warranty. Code PLUNGEPEDIA takes 5% off, and our Kove links apply it for you.

Best with an app under £1,000: Monk Shiver, £895. 880 W (1,250 W peak), app control, a filter, a 2-year warranty, and the cleanest upgrade path in the UK: owners moving from a Nomad to a Cocoon keep it.

Only if you already own a Lumi pod: Lumi Mini Chiller 2, £699 (also on Amazon UK). One of the lowest minimums of the compressor units (2C), three-stage filtration with ozone, app control, and it is the chiller in every Lumi bundle, so it fits their pods without adapters. Against that: the warranty is 12 months, the 445 W figure is unlabelled, and Lumi Therapy Ltd has been in administration since 29 August 2025, with the Lumi shop now operated by Sno Solutions Ltd. Chillers that stop working and warranty claims that stall are among the recurring complaints in Lumi's recent Trustpilot reviews, so pay by card and keep every order email. For a pod that is not tied to Lumi's fittings, the Shiver or the Kove Core above state their cooling.

Cheapest with a filter: The Pod Company Pod Chiller, £499. 1/3 HP, a 280 W draw, a 20 micron filter, a 5C minimum and a 1-year warranty (2 years at extra cost); no cooling figure in watts is published, so treat it as a small-tub or garage unit. MyoMaster's MyoChill (£549) is the alternative, rated by MyoMaster for tubs to 600 L.

Best if you want heating too: Kove Pro, £1,199. 1 HP, 2,500 W of cooling, 3 to 42C, UV and ozone, app control, 24 months, and one of only two brands here (with Cold Plunge Store, which sells an apparently identical unit) that publishes cooling, draw and heating figures so you know what you are buying. Kove takes 400 L from 23C to 5C in about five hours by its own figure.

Best for a big or outdoor tub: Kove Elite 1.5 HP, £1,599. Its 3,500 W is the highest cooling figure any chiller in our catalogue publishes; it draws 1,550 W, so it still runs from a 13A socket, and it heats to 42C.

Cheapest way to heat as well: Poolex O'Spa Flow, £887. A heat pump rather than a compressor chiller, sold in the UK by Urban Ice Tribe, with the circulation pump built in: 2 to 40C, WiFi control and a 12-month warranty. It publishes no cooling figure for the 5 kW model and needs a cartridge filter adding, but it is the cheapest unit here that heats to a full 40C with the pump included. Its sibling, the plain O'Spa (£645), is cheaper on paper and needs a separate pump and connection kit, which closes most of the gap. If you want a small plug-in box instead, Polar Recovery's Ultra Mini (£799.99) heats to 38C and chills to 1C, but it draws just 280 W, so treat its heating as keeping the water pleasant rather than making a hot tub.

Wildcard: MyoMaster MyoChill Plus, £899. The joint-lowest minimum of any separate chiller (1C, shared with Polar Recovery's Ultra Mini), ozone disinfection MyoMaster says keeps water clean for up to eight weeks, and rated to 1,000 L. MyoMaster does not publish its cooling figure or whether it has app control, so it stays a wildcard until MyoMaster publishes them.

Not for most homes: Chill Tubs Mini Chiller, £1,020. The Mini Chiller has a published noise figure (48 dB), a built-in circulation pump and a touchscreen, and Chill Tubs sells it alongside its Essential inflatables; it does not publish a cooling figure or a warranty on the page, and at £1,020 it is cold only where Kove's Pro heats for £179 more.

Where the Amazon-only chillers fit

Amazon UK lists dozens of unbranded and Chinese-brand chillers at £300 to £600 that are not in our catalogue because they have no UK brand page, warranty address or specification sheet to check against. The Keico Classic (£675, also on Amazon UK) and Keico Pro (£1,950, also on Amazon UK) are, with Lumi's Mini Chiller 2, the UK-branded units on Amazon with real specification pages, though Keico publishes no warranty on either. If you buy an unbranded unit, check three things before you pay: that it states a minimum temperature of 3C or lower (many stop at 5 to 8C), that it includes a filter, and that the hose fittings match your tub's ports.

What to check before you buy any of them

Ports and hoses: the chiller's hose kit must match your tub's port size or you will be buying adapters, so check both before ordering. Filtration: a chiller without a filter keeps the water cold and cloudy; ozone or UV keeps it clean for weeks rather than days. Ambient range: Kove rates its units to 45C ambient and down to 0 to 2C; a chiller left running outside in a UK frost needs freeze protection, which Kove's Elite page warns about. Noise: fewer than half state it, and the heat pumps quote theirs at 10 metres; expect a fridge-compressor hum and put it where it will not sit under a bedroom window. Running cost: at 26.32p per kWh a chiller holding an insulated, lidded 450 L tub at 5C costs about £9 a month in mild weather and £11 in summer sun; the running cost calculator does the sum for your tariff. And the lid: an insulated cover halves chiller run time whatever you buy.

Safety

A chiller makes water colder than a UK winter tap, and 1 to 3C water is a cardiovascular stress. If you have a heart condition, high blood pressure or are pregnant, talk to a doctor before using one. Start at 10 to 12C, one to two minutes, never alone. The safety guide has the full list, and chillers explained covers how the units work.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best cold plunge chiller in the UK?

For a 400 to 500 litre tub at home, the Kove Core (£599, 1,200 W cooling, 3C, 2-year warranty) gives the most stated cooling per pound of any cold-only chiller; for app control, the Monk Shiver (£895, 880 W stated cooling, 3C, 2-year warranty) is the pick. If you want heating as well, the Kove Pro (£1,199, 2,500 W, 3 to 42C, 2 years) is the benchmark; Cold Plunge Store sells a unit with the same 2,500 W cooling and 1,050 W draw for £1,185 (it calls it 0.8 HP where Kove says 1 HP). On the tightest budget The Pod Company's Pod Chiller (£499) is the cheapest with a filter.

How many watts does a cold plunge chiller need?

For a covered 400 to 500 litre tub in a UK garage or shade, about 800 to 1,200 W of cooling capacity (a 0.5 HP unit) holds 3 to 5C. Outdoors in summer sun or for 600 litres and up, 1 HP (about 2,300 to 2,500 W cooling). Be careful which watts a brand quotes: Kove's 0.5 HP Core delivers 1,200 W of cooling and draws 695 W; Lumi quotes 445 W for the Mini Chiller 2 without saying which.

Do cold plunge chillers heat as well?

More than you might think. The cheapest is a heat pump sold by Urban Ice Tribe, Poolex's O'Spa (£645, 3 to 40C, needs a separate pump). Next come Polar Recovery's Ultra Mini (£799.99, to 38C) and the O'Spa Flow (£887, pump built in). From £1,185 there are Cold Plunge Store's Pro and Elite, Kove's Pro and Elite (to 42C) and Keico's Pro, and at the top the Wedge systems. Monk's Shiver Pro heats to 40C but is only sold inside the £4,290 Cocoon bundle.

Can I plug a chiller into a normal socket?

The compressor chillers that state a supply run from a 230V 13A plug; the highest stated draw is Kaldera's Chill Core Pro at 1,800 W. The larger heat pumps (the 7 kW Poolex units and the Wedge range) do not publish a draw, so ask whether yours needs its own circuit before you buy. Use an RCD-protected outdoor socket, and keep the chiller off the ground if it can sit in a puddle.

How loud is a cold plunge chiller?

The small compressor units that state a figure are rated 38 to 48 dB (The Pod Company, Polar Recovery's Cube and Ultra Mini, Chill Tubs' Mini Chiller), roughly a fridge. Kaldera states 65 dB for the Chill Core 300. The heat pumps are quoted at 10 metres (28 to 30 dB for the Poolex Ice Spa and Wedge units), which is not comparable with a figure at one metre. If the chiller will sit near a bedroom window or a neighbour's fence, ask for the distance behind any figure you are given.

Cold water immersion places real stress on the heart and circulation. Anyone with a cardiovascular condition, high blood pressure, a history of arrhythmia, or who is pregnant should speak to a doctor before using a cold plunge. Never plunge alone. Start with short sessions at mild temperatures and progress gradually. Read the full safety guide.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commission does not decide verdicts; see our affiliate disclosure.